VoW4. Vaidya on Wednesday!

My NM College days.

After a short stint at IGIDR and Fr. Agnell Engineering college, I had an opportunity to work as a full fledged Librarian at Narsee Monjee College of Commerece and Economics, Juhu, Vile Parle (West) Mumbai . The experience there I gathered was par excellence. NM was one of the most famous colleges of Mumbai and India for that matter. It used to be listed as top 10 colleges in Commerce stream in many surveys conducted by media organisations. It has a very impressive celebrity alumni. As this college was also located at Juhu, Vile Parle, the students were from very well known families, by and large, from the prosperous Gujarati community. NM was popular among student community and was surrounded by the students of Mithibai College, NMIMS, DJ Sanghvi Engineering College, J C College of Law and Bhaghubai Mafatlal Polytechinic, at any given point of time you were witnessed by presence of student crowds. All roadside vendors had a roraing business. This was the most happening place for students. I have seen many times the TV anchors of many Music and entertainment channels chatting with students for their channel programmes.

I started working here in year 1998 and I had tough challenges ahead of me. To begin with, as a Librarian I was the youngest and other 11 staff members had already put more than 20 years of service in the library. It was very challenging for me to convince them for any work. For them I was like “Kal ka aa ya hua Chokra” (A chap, just joined). I was just 27 then. Initially, they did not take me seriously. As time passed I started to work with them and I became one among them, then all things started falling in the place. I learnt many management lessons. Gradually, things started changing and visible improvement in library services were appreciated by the students. ( Contd..)

Published by praveenvaidya

My early education is from Tippayikoppa, Masur and Hirekerur of Haveri district in Karnataka. I grew up looking at lot of Green forest around me. The sight of green nature evokes me lot of emotions that takes you back to my childhood days. Went on to finish my PUC days in Dharwad, a educational cradle of North Karanataka. After my PUC I confused to choose my career, wavered for almost three years and could not decide what to do next. Whole world seem to be dark. Then I took admission to do degree Courses and latter did my PG in Library and Information Science from Karnataka University and here I am at Tolani Maritime Institute at Talegaon Dabhade, Pune

Leave a comment